Tuesday, February 19, 2008

Who am I?

Time for the occasional reminder about who I am...

I'm a 33-year old guy, with a 5 and a half month old son. I've been married to my wonderful, lovely, supremely talented wife since 2004. We live in central NJ, in a house that we bought in 2004. I'm a stay-at-home dad, while my wife teaches orchestra in central New Jersey. In the afternoons and evenings, I teach private instrument lessons (currently, I have a "stable" of 4 regular saxophone students and 2 occasional ones and 3 regular clarinet students and 3 occasional ones), direct a small barbershop chorus (since January 2005, member since November 2002), sing bass with an international-caliber barbershop chorus (since August of 2006), and sing bass with an Episcopal church choir as a paid section leader.

I'm currently collecting approximately 13-15 comic book titles per month and am a regular reader of Sporting News, the Instrumentalist, Muscle & Fitness, Playboy, Maxim and the Newark Star Ledger. I just finished reading "Soon, I Will Be Invincible," by Austin Grossman. I work out three to four days per week, mostly weight lifting - although I started physical therapy on my knee yesterday morning. I'm a regular watcher of Heroes, Battlestar Galactica, Lost, Torchwood / Doctor Who, and a few other sci-fi shows; I also watch Bleach and Yu-Gi-Oh! G/X animes, and I'm a daily watcher of Scrubs, the Simpsons and Attack of the Show. TiVo is my friend. I subscribe to a bunch of podcasts: ESPN's Baseball Daily, The Lost Podcast with Jay & Jack, New York Times Front Page, 60-Second Science, The Onion Radio News, Baseball Prospectus, The Acapodcast, CASA Originals podcast, The Fitcast, Galactica Watercooler, Around the Net, Ask a Ninja, Strong Bad E-Mails and Fanboy Radio.

I'm planning, right now, on staying out of work until next fall. I'm looking for employment in some of the normal places, and I'm hoping to land a local teaching gig. I'm 1/3 of the way through my second master's degree, this one from Western Governor's University in mathematics grades 6-9. I want to work within 15 minutes of home, so that I can be around for my son. If I can't find a job within those parameters, then I'll work marching bands until I finish my degree, and plan to go back to work in January 2009. I have no real preference when it comes to what grade level; at this point, location is more important.

1 comment:

Paul D. Keiser said...

Hmm. Once again, you inspire me to blog.

You know me, though. Mine will be overly-detailed and take several days to read. ;)